top of page


Belknap EDC gathered for its’ annual meeting on Thursday, March 15th at Lakes Region Community College in Laconia. The event was sponsored by gold sponsor: Meredith Village Savings Bank; while Bank of New Hampshire, Franklin Savings Bank, Cross Insurance, and Northway Bank were bronze sponsors. More than a 100 Lakes Region business and civic leaders attended for the Belknap EDC Board of Directors to present the status of the EDC's goals and strategic plan, while presenting the Norman Marsh Leadership Award, Bill Seed Founder’s Award, and Community Impact Award to well deserving community leaders.

The Belknap Economic Development Council is proud to announce the Norman Marsh Leadership Award was presented to Michael Persson. The Norman Marsh Leadership award honors the memory of a local businessman who served two decades as a Belknap County Commissioner and four terms as a State Representative; and, whose leadership facilitated the creation and funding of the Belknap Economic Development Council. The Council presents this award annually to an individual who demonstrates outstanding leadership on economic development issues in our region. Mike has invested in the betterment of the Lakes Region for many years as a business leader, volunteer, adviser, Belknap EDC Director, and friend to many. Two Community Impact Awards were presented to Fusion and Lakes Region Mental Health Center - this award honors a business or organization’s impact which can be the result of any number of activities including job creation, volunteer efforts, board service or innovative business models that promote social goals. Mayor Ed Engler was recognized as the winner of the Bill Seed Award for his dedication to economic development and leadership in the region.

Other items of business included the election of Chris Kelly, Bayside ReMax Realty, as the new Chair, Marti Ilg of Lakes Region Childcare LLC as Vice-Chair, Paul Onthank as Treasurer, and Allison Ambrose of Wescott Law as Secretary.

Chris Walkley of Bank of New Hampshire, Chris Dickinson of Meredith Village Savings Bank, Amy Burke of Belmont High School, and Glen Waring, Belknap County Commissioner were elected as Directors to the Board of Directors.

Will Stewart, the Executive Director of the Stay Work Play NH organization, was the guest speaker.

Photo (L to R): Belknap EDC Chair, Gracie Cilly; Michael Persson of Lawson Persson & Chisholm, PC and Belknap EDC Loan Officer of Belknap EDC present Persson with the Norman Marsh Award.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Belknap EDC Facebook
  • Belknap EDC Twitter
bottom of page